Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour: Las Vegas, South Rim or West Rim, Compared by Price
A Grand Canyon helicopter tour costs from about $279 at the West Rim to $739 from Las Vegas. Compare departure points, landings, fees and weight rules.
At a glance
Grand Canyon helicopter tour at a glance
- West Rim, shortest
- From $279 to $324
- Maverick Grand Canyon Discovery; Papillon Over the Edge with canyon floor landing and boat, per each operator's site
- From Las Vegas
- From $549 to $739
- Maverick Western Journey to Indian Territory, per Maverick's site
- South Rim flights
- About 25 to 50 minutes
- Fly over the canyon, no landing, per operator listings
- Only landing below the rim
- Hualapai land
- Grand Canyon West, per Papillon and Blade
A Grand Canyon helicopter tour costs from about $279 at the West Rim, or $324 for Papillon’s one-hour flight with a canyon floor landing and boat ride, and from $549 to $739 per person for tours from Las Vegas, based on the operators’ own sites in November 2026. There are three ways to do it: fly from Las Vegas, fly over the canyon from the South Rim, or take a short hop to the canyon floor at the West Rim. Each one buys a different thing, and the price is only part of the choice.
The real catches are the ones that sit outside the headline fare: park entry that is not included, fuel surcharges collected at check-in, and weight rules that can add a second seat to your bill. This guide walks through each departure point, compares Papillon and Maverick, and shows what to ask before you pay.
All prices below are “from” fares read on operator pages or on pages that quote them, and they move with season and demand. Treat each as a starting point and confirm on the day you book.
Grand Canyon Helicopter Tours From Las Vegas
Most visitors start in Las Vegas, and the helicopter does most of the commute. Maverick’s Wind Dancer tour, for example, is listed from $599 and runs about 2.3 hours in total, with roughly 45 minutes of flying each way and a 30-minute landing, departing from the Las Vegas Strip Terminal, according to Maverick’s site. That is the trade you are making: more flying time over Lake Mead, the Colorado River and the canyon, in exchange for a higher fare than the West Rim shortcut.
Strip Departures vs Boulder City
Not every Las Vegas tour leaves from the Strip. Maverick’s Las Vegas tours meet at its Las Vegas Strip Terminal on South Las Vegas Boulevard. Papillon’s resellers list some of its Las Vegas tours from a Boulder City terminal, usually with hotel transport included, and its fares vary with promotions, so read the departure point and the price on Papillon’s own page for your date.
The practical difference is the ground time. A Boulder City start usually means a shuttle from your hotel, which is why the elapsed time on the clock is longer than the flight itself. Read the meeting point on your confirmation before you plan your day.
Landing Tours
A landing is what turns a scenic flight into the tour most people picture. Maverick’s Indian Territory tour is listed from $739 per person and runs about 4.5 hours. It includes a first landing of about 30 minutes in a private area roughly 3,500 feet below the rim on Hualapai land, then a second stop at Grand Canyon West on the rim with time at Eagle Point (the Skywalk) and Guano Point, per Maverick’s site. The same page lists Maverick’s Western Journey from $549 and Skywalk Odyssey from $639, both from the Strip Terminal.
If you only buy one thing on the trip, the landing is it. Below the rim, the canyon stops being a view and becomes a place. Tours without a landing are cheaper but keep you above the rim for the whole flight.
Hoover Dam Flyover
Several Las Vegas tours pass over Hoover Dam and Lake Mead on the way out, Maverick’s Wind Dancer among them. If the dam is the draw rather than the canyon, operators also sell shorter Hoover Dam and Strip flights; ask for the current fare, because these shorter products are priced and discounted by season.
Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour From the South Rim
The South Rim is the classic postcard view, and it is reached by road: Tusayan, the gateway town, sits next to Grand Canyon National Airport, where South Rim tours start. These are flights over the canyon, with no landing.
Why Tours Fly Over, Not Into, the National Park
Helicopter flights over Grand Canyon National Park fall under a special federal airspace regime. The FAA’s Special Flight Rules Area for the park, found in 14 CFR Part 93 Subpart U, defines flight-free zones where air tours cannot operate and confines tours to set routes and altitudes. A 1996 FAA rule described the space between flight-free zones as limited to 2-mile wide corridors for air tours, and a 2000 FAA rule limited the number of commercial air tour operations in the area each year, effective May 4, 2000, according to Federal Register notices.
The current rules on eCFR cover the airspace from the surface up to, but not including, 18,000 feet MSL (14 CFR 93.301). They name four flight-free zones (Desert View, Bright Angel, Toroweap/Shinumo and Sanup) and set the Zuni Point and Dragon corridors at 2 nautical miles wide for commercial air tours (14 CFR 93.305). Commercial air tours must fly at least 7,500 feet MSL in those two corridors, and between 5,000 and 7,500 feet MSL in the sectors along the Colorado River, depending on the sector (14 CFR 93.307).
In plain terms: the regime exists to protect quiet on the ground. It is why operators describe the West Rim, which is on Hualapai land outside the national park, as the one place where a helicopter can land below the rim.
Flight Times
South Rim flights are short. A Maverick listing quotes flights of approximately 25 or 45 minutes depending on the option, and a Papillon EcoStar tour is listed with a 45 to 50 minute flight. South Rim fares change with season and route, so ask the operator for the current price. Ask which route your fare covers, because the Dragon Corridor is one of the two corridors where air tours are allowed.
The honest comparison with Las Vegas is this: you spend less time in the air, but you also avoid a long drive from Las Vegas to the South Rim and the day it takes.
West Rim Tours and Landing on the Canyon Floor
If you want the canyon floor and a short day, the West Rim is the answer. You get to Grand Canyon West by road and take the helicopter from there.
Hualapai Land
Papillon’s Over the Edge tour is listed from $324 per person and lasts about one hour: flights of 5 to 7 minutes each way, a landing on the canyon floor at a bluff overlooking the Colorado River, and a 15 to 20 minute pontoon boat ride. It departs from the Grand Canyon West terminal and uses red EC130 helicopters, which Papillon’s site links to the Airbus H130 EcoStar. Papillon calls it the only area of the canyon where this landing is offered, and Blade’s guide to Las Vegas tours says the West Rim canyon floor landing is available on Hualapai Nation lands.
Standard fares on this tour do not include park entry. Papillon says entry can be bought at Grand Canyon West or added through its All Access pass. The Grand Canyon West tickets page lists general admission at $67, which does not include the Skywalk, and the All-Access Pass at $99, which includes the Skywalk. Add the entry price to your budget before you compare with a Las Vegas fare.
Skywalk Add-On
The Skywalk is the glass bridge at Eagle Point. On Maverick’s Indian Territory tour it is an optional $40 add-on, and the page notes that personal items such as cameras, purses and backpacks are not permitted on the Skywalk. Papillon’s page treats Skywalk access as part of its All Access pass, which Grand Canyon West lists at $99. Check what your package includes, because the same bridge can cost $40 extra on one tour and be bundled on another.
Papillon vs Maverick vs Others
The two names that dominate the market are Papillon and Maverick. Both sell tours from Las Vegas, and both fly to the South Rim and the West Rim. The table compares the tours we could read, and every row names its source.
| Tour | Operator | Departs from | Length | Landing | From price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Over the Edge | Papillon | Grand Canyon West terminal | About 1 hour | Canyon floor | $324 | Papillon site, Nov 2026 |
| Grand Canyon Discovery | Maverick | Grand Canyon West Airport | Not stated | Not stated | $279 | Maverick site, Nov 2026 |
| Western Journey | Maverick | Las Vegas Strip Terminal | Not stated | Not stated | $549 | Maverick site, Nov 2026 |
| Wind Dancer | Maverick | Las Vegas Strip Terminal | About 2.3 hours | Yes, 30 minutes | $599 | Maverick site, Nov 2026 |
| Skywalk Odyssey | Maverick | Las Vegas Strip Terminal | Not stated | Not stated | $639 | Maverick site, Nov 2026 |
| Indian Territory | Maverick | Las Vegas Strip Terminal | About 4.5 hours | Two landings | $739 | Maverick site, Nov 2026 |
| South Rim flights | Both | Tusayan | 25 to 50 minutes | No | Ask the operator | Operator listings, Nov 2026 |
Papillon’s fleet, as shown on its West Rim page, includes the EC130 (H130). Maverick’s fleet page lists two types: the Airbus 130 family, which carries up to seven passengers plus a pilot, and the twin-engine Sikorsky S-76, which carries up to eight passengers plus two pilots.
The verdict: at the West Rim the two are close ($279 for Maverick’s shortest listed tour, $324 for Papillon’s landing and boat combination), while Maverick’s Las Vegas tours, from $549, buy the long flight out and, on Indian Territory, a second stop. Neither is better in the abstract. Pick the one whose itinerary matches what you want to see, then compare the full cost including fees. Other operators sell Grand Canyon flights too, mostly through resellers, and the same questions apply to them.
Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour Price
Operators publish a “from” price, and the final bill depends on season, itinerary and add-ons. Below is the picture we could build from operator pages and resellers.
| Tour type | Typical from price | What is included | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| West Rim short tour | $279 | Departs Grand Canyon West Airport | Maverick site, Nov 2026 |
| West Rim flight, landing and boat | $324 | Park entry not included | Papillon site, Nov 2026 |
| Las Vegas departures | $549 to $639 | Western Journey, Wind Dancer, Skywalk Odyssey | Maverick site, Nov 2026 |
| Las Vegas with landing, Wind Dancer | $599 | About 2.3 hours, 30-minute landing | Maverick site, Nov 2026 |
| Indian Territory, two landings | $739 | Skywalk $40 extra | Maverick site, Nov 2026 |
| South Rim scenic flight | Ask the operator | No landing | Operator listings, Nov 2026 |
The cheapest option is not always the cheapest day. A West Rim tour that skips park entry and the Skywalk can end up close to a Las Vegas fare once you add them, and a Las Vegas fare that bundles hotel pickup saves you a car.
Fees and Fuel Surcharges
Fuel surcharges are the fee most visitors do not see coming. Papillon’s FAQ says a per-person surcharge may apply if the price of aviation fuel rises, that the amount differs across packages, and that it is collected at check-in. We did not find a current dollar figure on either operator’s site, so ask before you book whether the fare you are looking at includes fuel, taxes and park fees.
Weight Policies
Helicopters are weight-limited, and operators weigh passengers at check-in. Maverick’s FAQ sets the maximum at 300 pounds per person for flights in Las Vegas and to Grand Canyon West, and 275 pounds for Grand Canyon National Park flights. Guests over the limit must buy an additional seat, and Maverick says guests who state an inaccurate weight may have their booking canceled without a refund. Maverick’s page lists no price for the extra seat. Other operators set their own thresholds and prices, so read your operator’s policy before you pay.
Tips: Seats, Season, Time of Day
Three questions are worth asking the operator before you pay, because the answers change the day more than the fare does.
Seats. Ask how seats are assigned. Helicopters are balanced by weight, and operators weigh passengers at check-in, so a promise of a particular seat is worth little unless the operator confirms it in writing. If a window matters to you, say so when you book.
Season. Fares move with demand, so compare dates before you commit. Weather also changes the product: one Maverick listing warns that routes may change on the day because of weather or other circumstances, so ask what happens to your fare if a flight is cancelled.
Time of day. Operators sell sunset and early slots as separate products; Maverick’s menu, for example, lists a Wind Dancer Sunset tour. Ask what is different about the slot beyond the light, and whether the fare is the same as the daytime version.
Pair it with the rest of the trip. If you are flying into Las Vegas privately, see our guide to private jet charter. For other premium trips, read about luxury train journeys or browse our travel hub. For a longer trip that ends somewhere with a pool, our guide to the best resorts in the Maldives is the next step.
Frequently Asked Questions
- How much is a Grand Canyon helicopter tour?
- A Grand Canyon helicopter tour starts around $324 for a one-hour West Rim flight with a canyon floor landing, per Papillon's site in November 2026. Maverick lists a shorter West Rim tour from $279, and its tours from Las Vegas run from $549 to $739. Add park entry and fuel surcharges.
- Which is better, Papillon or Maverick?
- Neither wins outright. At the West Rim their entry fares are close ($279 for Maverick's shortest listed tour, $324 for Papillon's landing and boat tour), while Maverick's Las Vegas tours ($549 to $739) add the long flight out and, on one tour, a second landing. Choose by itinerary, departure point and total cost including fees, not by brand.
- Can helicopters land in the Grand Canyon?
- Yes, at the West Rim. Papillon and Blade both say the canyon floor landing is available on Hualapai land at Grand Canyon West, which sits outside the national park. South Rim tours inside the park fly over the canyon and do not land below the rim.
- What is the best Grand Canyon helicopter tour?
- The best tour depends on what you want. Pick a West Rim tour for a short day and a canyon floor landing, a Las Vegas landing tour for the full experience with more flying time, or a South Rim flight for the classic view without the long drive.
- Is there a weight limit for helicopter tours?
- Yes. Operators weigh passengers at check-in. Maverick's FAQ sets the limit at 300 pounds for Las Vegas and Grand Canyon West flights and 275 pounds for Grand Canyon National Park, and guests over the limit must buy an additional seat. Read your operator's policy before booking.
Sources
- Papillon, Over the Edge Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour and Boat, 2026, https://www.papillon.com/grand-canyon-west-rim/west-rim-tours/over-the-edge-helicopter-and-boat/
- Maverick Helicopters, Grand Canyon Indian Territory Tour, 2026, https://www.maverickhelicopter.com/indian-territory-tour
- Maverick Helicopters, Wind Dancer Tour, 2026, https://www.maverickhelicopter.com/tour-wind-dancer.aspx
- Blade, Las Vegas Grand Canyon Helicopter Tours, 2026, https://www.blade.com/las-vegas-grand-canyon-helicopter-tours
- Federal Register, FAA Special Flight Rules Area notices (1996, 2000), https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-1996-12-31/pdf/96-33146.pdf
- eCFR, 14 CFR Part 93 Subpart U (93.301, 93.305, 93.307), https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-14/chapter-I/subchapter-F/part-93/subpart-U
- Grand Canyon West, Tickets and Deals, https://grandcanyonwest.com/tickets-deals/
- Maverick Helicopters, Fleet, https://www.maverickhelicopter.com/fleet
- Maverick Helicopters, Tour FAQs, https://www.maverickhelicopter.com/tour-faqs
- Papillon, Clear Fare Promise and FAQ, https://papillon.com/about-papillon/papillon-clear-fare-promise/


